Home Page  • 

Text Size:


Employees of the Year Recognized

The Labor Management Committee of Opportunities Unlimited of Niagara (OUN), comprised of management and the OUN Employees Union Local #4265, representing the agency’s direct support staff, recently honored Frank Metro, LPN and Tanya Smith, Senior Site Supervisor as Employees of the Year.

Metro began his career with OUN in 2004 as a residential site supervisor and now works as a nurse. Fellow staff who nominated him for the award described him as a true team player with an extremely positive attitude and who is respectful and courteous to all.

Working for OUN for more than 14 years, Smith is a senior site supervisor in the agency’s residential program. Her nomination acknowledged her willingness to assist co-workers, her compassion toward the individuals OUN supports, as well as her eagerness to share her knowledge of working with people with developmental disabilities with others throughout the agency.

OUN also recognized employees celebrating quinquennial anniversaries. Employees acknowledged for their dedication to enhancing the lives of individuals with developmental disabilities included: Susan Laurito and Bernadette Menz – 30 years; Janna Fox, Lisa Scalzo, Rena Scharlau, Joey Vanderwalker, and Nick Zawacki – 25 years; Patricia McCalister, Victor Santasero, and Wendy Sulowski – 20 years; Harvey Anderson, Ansherika Felts, Hugh Hattaway, Jody Kodeski, Rosemary Kurtzworth, Christine Libassi, Pamela Miller, Denise Montanari, Keri Mountain, Madonna Rinehart, and Cynthia Stroud – 15 years; Deborah Brown, Vanessa Davis, Susan Gwizdowski, Deanna Keith, Steve Levandoski, Patricia Lozinsky, Debra Moll, Catherine Quirk, Carrie Smith, and Joan Willard – 10 years; and Melanie Carder, Angela Crean, Dave Ferris, Amanda Glaser, Mary Jo Henkel, Kristina Klosin, Heather Knott, Betsy Kovach, Victoria Leverentz, Shannon McNerney, Patricia Robinson, Samantha Roman, Jeffery Rowland, Arlene Schalk, Kelly Soto, Robert Stevens, and Latresha Sweat – 5 years.

Pictured (from left to right): Edith Janese, OUN Employee’s Union President; Tanya Smith, Senior Site Supervisor; Frank Metro, LPN; and Mari Howard, OUN Executive Director.